Alert and Logout Application Users

System Messages allows you to send messages to application users, for example to inform about system maintenance.

Force Logout allows you to immediately logout application users, for example if an account has been compromised.


Install and Setup
  1. Login to SiteAdmin
  2. Navigate to Plugins tab
  3. Update the “Updates.v5” plugin from the “beta.gpsgate.com” repository
  4. For Forced Logout, also update the “Terminal” plugin from the “beta.gpsgate.com” repository
System Messages

With System Messages you can send information to selected users. This can be done when they login or as a pop-up that is pushed to logged in users at a specific time.

Configure System Messages:

  1. Login to SiteAdmin
  2. Navigate to “Applications / System Messages”
  3. Click on “New” button
  4. Enter information for each field:
    Heading System message heading (characters like ” [’<>] " are not supported).
    Message Message content (characters like ” [’<>] " are not supported).
    Message Type Push - pushes a pop-up to logged in users at the time specified in “At Time” field.
    At Login - shows a pop-up when users login after the time specified in “At Time” field.
    At time Time when the message will be shown.
    Application Tag Group of applications that will receive the System Message, available only if there are Applications Tags registered in “SiteAdmin / Applications / Application Tags”.
    Roles Roles that will receive the System Message. If an “Application Tag” is selected, Roles are from this “Application Tag”. If there are no “Application Tags”, all available Roles will be shown
  5. Save the System Message.

System Messages

Click on the “List” button to see all users that get this message and who has read it.

Message list

Note: If a System Message is edited and re-saved it is considered a new message. The list is reset and all users will receive the message again.

At the time specified (or at the next login after this time) a pop-up like this is shown to the selected users:

Sample message

Force Logout

With Force Logout users can be logged out immediately by a Site Administrator. This can for example be used when privileges for a user have been updated, if an account has been compromised or if you want to refresh a session for a user.

  1. Login to SiteAdmin
  2. Navigate to “System Tools / Activity”
  3. Search for a user (select Application or enter User name)
  4. Select the User(s) with the checkbox and click “Force logout”
  5. The User is logged out

Forced Logout


  Discuss this blog post on the forum please



Download free GpsGate Server

Install it on your own server. The installation is free for 5 users.

Download Now