Localization Editor

The Localization feature adds a user-friendly editor for customizing the translations of the VehicleTracker user interface and for translating it into new languages. It also adds new privileges that control access to languages for different applications and roles.


The Localization feature allows users to make custom changes to the text in the user interface as well as simplifying the workflow for translators, who will no longer have to edit XML files.

Key functionality
  • Phrases in the user interface and reports can be modified on a per-language basis.
  • New languages can be created based on existing languages.
  • Applications can be customized, i.e. “Personal Tracking” instead of “Vehicle Tracking”.
  • Access to a language can be controlled per application and per role.
  • Languages can be exported to .lang files.
Installation

The Localization feature is a core feature and requires GpsGate Server 4.0. How to install or upgrade to 4.0.

Follow these steps to install and start using the Localization feature:

  1. Go to SiteAdmin / Plugins
  2. Upgrade or install Patch.v4. If it has not been installed already, it is found under More Plugins.
Privileges

Four new privileges have been added:  _UseLanguage, _EditLanguage, _CreateLanguage, and _DeleteLanguage.

Privileges

  • _UseLanguage controls which languages the user can select in Settings. If no languages are enabled, English will be used.
  • _EditLanguage controls which languages can be modified. This privilege must be enabled in order for the Localization menu item to appear.
  • _CreateLanguage gives the right to create a new language.
  • _DeleteLanguage gives the right to delete a language or to revert custom translations of an existing language. Only languages enabled under _EditLanguage can be deleted or reverted.
Customizing an existing language

After installing the patch and enabling at least _EditLanguage for a user in an application, log in as that user. The menu item Localization should appear under the Admin menu. Selecting the menu item opens a window with a list of all the languages which you are allowed to edit.

Localization

Select a language. A window with a list of phrases appears. You can now enter new phrases in the Custom Translation column. Changes are saved automatically; there is no Save button. Those changes will now be visible in the Vehicle Tracker application to anyone who uses this language.

Localization Editor

Creating a new language

If the _CreateLanguage privilege is enabled, the Add New Language button will appear in the language list. Click it to open the Add New Language window.

Enter a language name and select a language to base the new language on. The fields Author and Note are optional. Click the Create button to create the new language. A Localization Editor window with a list of phrases will appear, as when customizing an existing language.

When created, a new language will only be enabled for the role of the user who created it and in the application where it was created. It is possible to share the language with other roles and with other applications.

Adding new Keys

Adding new keys is needed in order to localize reports and variables. This can be done by clicking on the New Key button.

Add Key

Enter the key and its translation in the corresponding fields. Under the Module drop down menu choose the module for which the key will be used for. If you want to localize a report, choose the report definition under the Report Definition category and press create. Similarly, if you want to localize a variable, choose GenericComponents under Variables and click on Create.

Testing the language

The phrases in the user interfaces are not updated automatically as you enter them; the page has to be reloaded in order to see the changes. If the language you edited is not the currently selected language, click Settings in the menu bar, select the language in the Localization tab and click Save. When the language being edited is the same as the currently selected language, the page can be reloaded by clicking Done & Reload in the Localization Editor window, or if it isn’t open, by refreshing the page in your web browser.

Editing workflow

When opening the Localization Editor window for a language you are presented with list of phrases. This list is quite long and might feel overwhelming, however there are a number of ways of dealing with the large amount of phrases.

The leftmost column has a green check mark for phrases which have been translated or a yellow circle for phrases which are still to be translated. A phrase is considered to be translated if there is a translation from the English phrase either in the Phrase column or in the Custom Translation column.

The list can be sorted by any column. If you don’t want to see phrases which have already been translated, you can switch from SHOWING ALL to NOT TRANSLATED.

If you are looking for a specific phrase, you can search for it by typing text in the search box. Both the Phrase and Custom Translation columns are searched. If the Key, Module or Location columns are enabled, then those are searched as well.

If a phrase is too long to fit in the Custom Translation column, you can click the expand button (...) to open a window with key/phrase details. This window can also be opened by pressing Alt-Enter.

You can move between rows with Up, Down, Page Up, Page Down, Ctrl-Home, Ctrl-End, Tab, Shift-Tab or Enter.

Exporting a language

A language can be exported to a .lang file by clicking the Export button in the Localization Editor. Only the contents of the Custom Translation column are exported.

Deleting or reverting a language

User-created languages can be deleted, provided the _DeleteLanguage privilege is enabled. Click the Delete button in the Localization Editor to delete the language. Please note that there is no undo for this action.

If the language is not a user-created language, then there is a Revert button in place of the Delete button. Clicking Revert will erase all the entries in the Custom Translation column, reverting the language to the default version. Please note that there is no undo for this action.


  Discuss this blog post on the forum please



Download free GpsGate Server

Install it on your own server. The installation is free for 5 users.

Download Now